Ok so quite alot has happened over the last month or so and I haven’t blogged for a while, so I thought I’d write a bit about it today. =)

On the 20th of March (I think that was the date), we went to the Stitch and Craft show at the Kensington Olympia in London. Some of my work was on display there and have a picture here with them in the background, the giant Street Fighter ones in the top left corner:

In the picture with me is Jamie ‘Mr X stitch‘ Chalmers himself, and my lovely lady Mims Reilly who stitched the Halloween Hello Kitty in the picture. We spent the whole day there talking and having a laugh, while learning some new and interesting ways of improving my cross stitching work.

The event itself was quite a strange one, with loads of sellers but not much actual crafting. I found this odd but at the same time the average age of people there was around 40+, so most just walked past not quite sure who or what Mr X’s stand was about. Some of the pieces there were done by people from Sprite Stitch and other craft sites. It was a modern alternative twist on the world of Cross Stitching (and different to everything else at the show).

It was the first event of this type I’d attended and I felt a little out of place walking around, but i did go dressed as a walking easy jet plane so that didnt help! =P After walking around for a few hours and buying stuff, like 50 skeins for a Pokemon project (more on that later) and my girlfriend buying a loom (?!), we went back to the stand where we met Helen McCarthy!!!

Helen McCarthy is the reason why we started stitching to begin with! Mims bought her book, called Manga Cross Stitch, for me and I’ve never looked back. We spent hours just talking about all the work we have done and that we’re planning to do over the next few years. Including making comic book art in the Marvel/DC style after she saw my Batman design.

We also spoke about the Japan tsunami disaster and things we could do to raise money for aid and disaster relief. This is when I told her that a few hours before, a few people over at Sprite Stitch and myself, were up until 2am talking about making a giant quilt with squares of all 150 pokemon in them!

As I’m going to talk about the Pokemon Quilt more now you can go to my girlfriend’s blog where she wrote a more in-depth article about the event itself here: http://mimsmusings.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/stitch-and-craft-show-2011/

Ok so about the Pokemon Quilt, we started putting the concept together around the 20th of March, and it has really taken off! There are around 22 members (on the WordPress site, there could be more upon publishing this post) and we are all making as many squares as we are able to do. I have made two, almost three squares this month alone! These are the ones I’m working on:

For those that are not familiar with Pokemon, they are the Charmander evolution, Beedrill evolution and the huge pokemon called Onix!

The idea is to put all the squares together into a quilt and sell it off in a charity event or online auction. We haven’t made any solid plans regarding how to sell it, but I had the idea of making a donation fund, where we have a target of £1000 (around $1634). People could donate as much as they can/want, and whoever donates the most would get the quilt!

This way if it was gonna sell for £300, someone can donate that much, but people can still donate too in hope they get something awesome just for helping charity. This is my idea but people have come up with other ideas too. I will post about it when it comes closer to knowing how you can help out.

Each square is 70×70 stitches, thats 4900 stitches in total.

That comes to 5″ by 5″ on 14ct aida

Each square has a huge difference in the amount of colours used. For example, mine have 21,22 or just 15 colours. After waiting 9 days for the colours to be delivered, I also have 57 more for the next few squares.

If you have any questions feel free to comment and I will try my hardest to help you out.

Check  the link to the left once you’re finished reading to see more information about the gym and charity work we have been doing.

 

Faewren over at Sprite Stitch has made a forum called Patchwork Gym ,  this is where most of us are talking about WIP’s (work in progress) and other such delights


Leave a Reply

